George Wehby, PhD, Named 2012 Recipient of the Thompson Prize for Young Investigators

By AUPHA Exchange posted 05-03-2012 10:04


George Wehby, PhD, from the University of Iowa, has been named the 2012 recipient of the John D. Thompson Prize for Young Investigators. The Prize was established in honor of John D. Thompson, a professor of health administration at Yale University who set standards in teaching, commitment to learning, collegial relationships, and health services research that are without peer. It is awarded to faculty from AUPHA full member programs whose work, which may be in any of the several fields of disciplines, contributes to knowledge in health services. Dr. Wehby will be awarded the Prize at the AUPHA annual meeting on June 1st in Minneapolis, MN.

Dr. Wehby was nominated by Fredric Wolinsky, PhD, The John W. Colloton Chair of Health Management and Policy and Keith Mueller, PhD, The Gerhard Hartman Professor and Head of the Department, both of the University of Iowa. Wehby is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Health Management and Policy at the University of Iowa. He earned his BS in Biology from American University of Beirut, an MPH in Health Services Administration from the American University of Beirut, and his PhD in Health Management and Policy, with a concentration in Health Economics from the University of Iowa. 

In his impressive library of publications, Wehby has 32 published articles in top-tier, peer-reviewed journals, 11 manuscripts under consideration, and is actively working on 10 additional manuscripts.  “Given that George’s published articles routinely appear in top tier journals like the American Journal of Public Health, Health Services Research, Medical Care, Statistics in Medicine, Health Economics, the American Journal of Medical Quality, Economics and Human Biology, Oral Diseases, and the Journal of Human Capital …, it is relatively straightforward to conclude that his productivity rate is simply extraordinary,” say Wolinsky and Mueller. In addition to his growing number of publications, Wehby is the principle investigator on three active NIH and CDC research grants, serves as co-investigator on three other NIH or AHRQ grants, has one additional NIH grant under review, and is presently preparing two more.

“I am very honored to be the recipient of the 2012 AUPHA Thompson Prize.  My colleague, Dr. Sam Levey, who knew John D. Thompson, told me that he was “an outstanding researcher and a fascinating personality.”  I hope to follow in his footsteps,” says Dr. Wehby.  “There is a lot of research and work to be done in the area of healthcare services, policy, and management, and I’m looking forward to continuing my work in this area for several years ahead.  I want to thank my nominator and mentor, Dr. Fred Wolinsky, and co-nominator, Dr. Keith Mueller, for all their support and guidance. I also want to thank Dr. Jeff Murray for his continuing support for my career at the University of Iowa.”

Dr. Wehby was selected as the 2012 Thompson Prize winner by a selection committee chaired by Eugene Schneller, PhD of Arizona State University. Nominations for the 2013 Thompson Prize will be solicited in the fall and winter for submissions by Spring 2013. In order to be eligible for the Prize, the nominee must be a faculty member at a Full Member Program of AUPHA, have been awarded a PhD no more than six years prior to consideration and have not yet achieved tenure. The Prize is intended to serve as a benchmark for pre-tenure work. For additional information, go to AUPHA’s website at > Products & Services > Recognition and Prizes > Thompson Prize for Young Investigators.