By AUPHA Exchange posted 11-26-2012 12:02




AUPHA 2012 David A. Winston Policy Scholarship Symposium

 ARLINGTON, VA – On October 10-11, 2012, current David A. Winston Health Policy Scholars gathered with current and former health policy fellows and members of the Winston Health Policy Fellowship Board for the annual Scholars Symposium in Washington, DC.  The symposium, held at the Federation of American Hospitals headquarters, focused on the potential impact of the Affordable Care Act (health care reform), with perspectives offered by representatives from the administration, a Romney campaign representative, Congress, the insurance industry, and health care providers.

The Fellowship, which funds the Scholarship and Symposium, commemorates the contributions and personal qualities of David A. Winston who, for 20 years, played a significant role in shaping the role of health policy in America.

The objective of the Scholarship Program is to increase the number and quality of individuals trained in healthcare policy at the state and federal level by awarding deserving health policy students financial support to further their education. The Program recognizes student excellence and achievement based upon the student’s record and recommendations from faculty and colleagues and evidence of their interest in and commitment to health policy.  Ten $5,000 scholarships are offered to students who demonstrate their potential to succeed in health policy at the state or federal level upon graduation from their master’s health administration degree program. The 2-day health policy symposium is just one feature of the Scholars’ year.

 Recipients of the 2012 Scholarship are:

 Beatrice Abiero, Pennsylvania State University

Krutika Amin, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Phillip Berger, University of Missouri

Asha Cesar, George Washington University

Colin Goldfinch, University of Washington

Erynne Jones, University of California, Los Angeles

Artair Rogers, Georgetown University

Erin Shigekawa, University of Michigan

Erica Tibbals, George Washington University

Willow Yonika, Columbia University

“The selection committee and I continue to be impressed with the caliber of the Winston Scholars.  This year’s class, in particular, represents the epitome of deserving individuals achieving excellence through application and commitment,” said Lydia S. Middleton, MBA, CAE, AUPHA’s President and Chief Executive Officer.

For more information on the David A. Winston Health Policy Scholarship, its history and application process, please visit 

# # #

 AUPHA is a global network of colleges, universities, faculty, individuals and organizations dedicated to the improvement of healthcare delivery through excellence in healthcare management and policy education.  Its mission is to foster excellence and drive innovation in healthcare management and policy education, and promote the value of university-based management education for leadership roles in the health sector.  AUPHA’s membership includes the premier baccalaureate, master’s, executive and doctoral degree programs in Health Administration Education in the United States, Canada, and around the world.  The AUPHA faculty and individual members represent more than 400 colleges and universities.


Contact:  Jaime Stephens, AUPHA
703.894.0941, x311

Wendy Fernando, AUPHA