2020 David A. Winston Policy Scholars Announced

By Chris Anne Sanyer posted 06-01-2020 12:07

The David A. Winston Health Policy Fellowship is proud to announce the 2020 David A. Winston Health Policy Scholars, selected on May 26, 2020.

The objective of the Scholarship Program is to increase the volume and caliber of individuals trained in healthcare policy at the state and federal level by awarding students financial support to further their graduate education with an emphasis on health policy. The program commemorates the contributions and personal qualities of David A. Winston who, for 20 years, played a significant role in shaping the role of health policy in America. Scholarship recipients are recognized for their excellence and achievement based upon their academic record and recommendations from faculty and colleagues and evidence of their interest in and commitment to the field of health policy. Thirteen $10,000 scholarships were awarded to students who demonstrated their potential to succeed in health policy at the state or federal level upon graduation from their master’s degree program. Scholarship recipients are also invited to participate in a two-day health policy symposium featuring nationally recognized health policy experts.

Recipients of the 2020 Scholarship are:
  • Scarlett Bergam, Boston University – MPH
  • Rebecca Copeland, University of Michigan - MPH/MPP
  • Jonah Cunningham, George Washington University - MPP
  • Amani Danielle Echols, University of Michigan - MPH
  • Anne Edwards, University of Iowa - MHA
  • John Franco, Columbia University - MPH
  • Christopher Kei Helm, Georgetown University – MPP
  • Batsheva Honig, University of Michigan - MPH/MHSA
  • Clare Hudock, Columbia University - MPH
  • Matthew Jirsa, University of Michigan - MHSA
  • Kellie McThenia, George Washington University – MHA
  • Julie Reiff, Johns Hopkins University- MHA
  • Justin Yoo, University of California, Berkeley - MPP/MPH
“We are very excited to introduce another group of outstanding health policy Scholars to the national health policy discussion. We are confident that each of these individuals from excellent graduate programs will soon take their place as important contributors to the national health policy debate. We look forward to working with them now and in the future.”
– Mary Grealy, Chair, Board of Directors, David A. Winston Health Policy Fellowship.

For more information on the David A. Winston Health Policy Scholarship & Fellowship programs, and to see the requirements & application process, please visit www.winstonfellowship.org.