The Exchange

 View Only

2020-2021 Bugbee-Falk Award Programs Selected

By Chris Anne Sanyer posted 09-22-2020 13:09



As was announced last month, AUPHA has relaunched the Bugbee-Falk Book Award. The award, named in honor of the distinguished careers and contributions of George Bugbee and Isidore S. Falk to healthcare management education and practice, provides students from AUPHA member programs a collection of works by respected authors in the field. The books are intended to launch the students’ professional libraries.

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Bugbee-Falk Book Award programs:
  • Alma College
  • California State University - Chico
  • Capella University (UG)
  • Central Michigan University (D)
  • Clayton State University (UG)
  • Columbia University
  • East Carolina University
  • Governors State University (UG)
  • Indiana University Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health (UG)
  • James Madison University
  • Loma Linda University (G)
  • Metropolitan State University of Denver (UG)
  • Missouri State University
  • Northcentral University
  • Northeastern State University
  • Pennsylvania State University (G)
  • Rochester Institute of Technology
  • Rush University
  • Rutgers University (G)
  • Samford University (G)
  • Seton Hall University
  • South University
  • Temple University (G)
  • Texas State University (G)
  • Trinity University (G)
  • University of Detroit Mercy
  • University of Memphis (G)
  • University of Miami (UG)
  • University of Michigan - Flint
  • University of Minnesota (UG)
  • University of Minnesota Duluth
  • University of Missouri
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Utah
  • University of Washington Seattle
The winning programs were drawn at random. In subsequent years, winning programs will be removed from the pool until all AUPHA programs have been provided the opportunity to designate a student to receive the award. The winning programs will be contacted by AUPHA and will have one month to notify AUPHA of the student selected to receive the 2020-2021 Bugbee-Falk Book Award.

The Bugbee-Falk Book Award books and authors for Academic Year 2020-2021 are:
  • Diversity on the Executive Path: Wisdom and Insights for Navigating to the Highest Levels of Healthcare Leadership, by Diane Dixon, donated by Health Administration Press (HAP)
  • Innovating in Healthcare: Creating Breakthrough Services, Products, and Business Models, by Regina Herzlinger, donated by Wiley Publishing
  • Intangibles: The Unexpected Traits of High-performing Healthcare Leaders, by Amer Kaissi, donated by Health Administration Press (HAP)
  • Isms in Health Care Human Resources: A Concise Guide to Workplace Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, by Darren Liu, Betty Burston, Shartrya Stewart, and Heidi Mulligan, donated by Jones & Bartlett Learning
  • Patients Come Second: Leading Change by Changing the Way You Lead, by Britt Berrett and Paul Spiegelman, donated by the authors
  • Population Health: A Primer, by Richard Riegelman, donated by Jones & Bartlett Learning
  • The Busy Leader's Handbook: How to Lead People and Places that Thrive, by Quint Studer, donated by Wiley Publishing
  • The Florence Prescription: From Accountability to Ownership: 10th Anniversary Edition, by Joe Tye, donated by the author
  • The Resilient Healthcare Organization: How to Reduce Physician and Healthcare Worker Burnout, by George Mayzell, donated by Routledge Publishing
  • Your Healthcare Job Hunt, by Donna Malvey and Jessica Sapp, donated by Health Administration Press (HAP)
Thank you to the authors and their publishers who have agreed to participate by contributing books to the 2020-2021 Bugbee-Falk Award.