The Exchange

 View Only

Program News - University of Louisville

By Chris Anne Sanyer posted 01-25-2022 15:32

HMSS Chair Selected for AHRQ Healthcare Research Training Study Section
Christopher Johnson, PhD, Professor and Chair, Dept. of Health Management and Systems Sciences, will serve as a member of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Healthcare Research Training (HCRT) Study Section. The 25-member panel meets quarterly to review applications requesting support for health services research training and career development; research infrastructure applications, demonstrations, and evaluations in topics spanning the entire spectrum of health services research; and review applications submitted through the National Research Service Awards. 

Kelsey White and team of HMSS researchers published in Journal of Religion and Health

Carmen Mitchell named 2021 APPAM Equity and Inclusion Fellow
Earlier this fall, Carmen Mitchell, MPH, doctoral candidate, Dept. of Health Management and Systems Sciences, was named a 2021 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management (APPAM) Equity and Inclusion Fellow.

The APPAM Equity & Inclusion Fellowship was created in 2016 to encourage participation by underrepresented students in APPAM and its activities, and expanded in 2021 to support young professionals. The fellowships enabled 40 students and five young professionals from traditionally underrepresented backgrounds to participate in the 2021 APPAM Fall Research Conference held November 11-13 in Austin, TX.

Two-Star U.S. Army Major General (Ret.) hosted leadership seminars at SPHIS

On Veteran's Day, SPHIS was honored to host retired Army Major General David Rubenstein, who provided healthcare leadership training and coaching for faculty, staff, and students in the MS in Health Administration (MSHA) Program and the Dept. of Health Management and Systems Sciences (HMSS). Rubenstein currently serves Army Medicine as an executive mentor and shares his leadership lessons as a public speaker and non-profit board member.